THE FALSE COMFORT OF SELF-PITY


THE FALSE COMFORT OF SELF-PITY April 13

Self-pity is one of the most unhappy and consuming defects that we know. It is a bar to all spiritual progress and can cut off all effective communication with our fellows because of its inordinate demands for attention and sympathy. It is a maudlin form of martyrdom, which we can ill afford.

AS BILL SEES IT, p. 238

The false comfort of self-pity screens me from reality only momentarily and then demands, like a drug, that I take an ever bigger dose. If I succumb to this it could lead to a relapse into drinking. What can I do? One certain antidote is to turn my attention, however slightly at first, toward others who are genuinely less fortunate than I, preferably other alcoholics. In the same degree that I actively demonstrate my empathy with them, I will lessen my own exaggerated suffering.

2 thoughts on “THE FALSE COMFORT OF SELF-PITY

  1. revgerry says:

    True, true. An additional method is to turn your attention to gratitude for what you have and how far you have come, gratitude for the .sun in the sky and breath in your lungs, for the beauty all around.

    In Al-Anon, that is our emergency first aid, it’s really all we have other than meetings and sponsoring, and yes we too engage in an inordinate amount of self-pity, focused on other people’s behavior, over which we have no control.

    Cheers. Love your blog..

    Like

Leave a Reply

