TRUSTED SERVANTS


TRUSTED SERVANTS March 29

They are servants. Theirs is the sometimes thankless privilege of doing the group’s chores.

TWELVE STEPS AND TWELVE TRADITIONS, p. 134

In Zorba the Greek, Nikos Kazantzakis describes an encounter between his principal character and an old man busily at work planting a tree. “What is it you are doing?” Zorba asks. The old man replies: “You can see very well what I’m doing, my son, I’m planting a tree.” “But why plant a tree,” Zorba asks, “if you won’t be able to see it bear fruit?” And the old man answers: “I, my son, live as though I were never going to die.” The response brings a faint smile to Zorba’s lips and, as he walks away, he exclaims with a note of irony: “How strange—I live as though I were going to die tomorrow!”

As a member of Alcoholics Anonymous, I have found that the Third Legacy is a fertile soil in which to plant the tree of my sobriety. The fruits I harvest are wonderful: peace, security, understanding and twenty-four hours of eternal fulfillment; and with the soundness of mind to listen to the voice of my conscience when, in silence, it gently speaks to me, saying: You must let go in service. There are others who must plant and harvest.

From the book Daily Reflections
© Copyright 1990 by Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc.

One thought on “TRUSTED SERVANTS

  1. I can remember when I was doing service work to save my life. I stayed very busy and did it all. Opened the AA Club doors in the morning, cleaned the club until the first meeting, chaired meetings morning, noon, and night and helped others through the day. I did this early on in recovery and stayed so busy. Finally after a while of much service work I had to start teaching other new comers how to chair meetings and do service work. If I did not let go and let others experience service work , how where they to learn to help others and pass it on? We cant always be the one in the center of the room. We have to let go and plant the tree and watch the fruit harvest.

    TBH

    Like

Leave a Reply

