NO MORE RESERVATIONS


. . . AND NO MORE RESERVATIONS March 23

We have seen the truth again and again: “Once an alcoholic, always an alcoholic.”. . . If we are planning to stop drinking, there must be no reservation of any kind, nor any lurking notion that someday we will be immune to alcohol. . . . To be gravely affected, one does not necessarily have to drink a long time nor take the quantities some of us have. This is particularly true of women. Potential female alcoholics often turn into the real thing and are gone beyond recall in a few years.

ALCOHOLICS ANONYMOUS, p. 33

These words are underlined in my book. They are true for men and women alcoholics. On many occasions I’ve turned to this page and reflected on this passage. I need never fool myself by recalling my sometimes differing drinking patterns, or by believing I am “cured.” I like to think that, if sobriety is God’s gift to me, then my sober life is my gift to God. I hope God is as happy with His gift as I am with mine.

From the book Daily Reflections
© Copyright 1990 by Alcoholics Anonymous World Services, Inc

One thought on “NO MORE RESERVATIONS

  1. xeeramasque says:

    Hi turkeyboneheaven,
    After receiving your nomination and having a browse through your blog it is obvious to me that you are also deserving to be nominated for the Liebster Award. I am posting the nomination on this post because I think it gives some insight into your struggle and how you think deeply about it and I want to commend you for sharing.
    – Xeera Masque

    Stand Strong You Are Not Alone

    I call you a survivor, because that is what you are. There are days when you don’t feel like a survivor and there are days when the memories trigger your past and it feels like you are loosing the fight – but you are not. Take the past and heal with it. You are strong. I want you to know that the abuse was not your fault. It does not matter what age it happened. You did not deserve it, you did not cause it, and you did not bring it on yourself. You own no shame, guilt, or remorse. In your life, you have faced many demons but look around you and you will see there is hope, and there is beauty. You are beautiful, You are loved, there is hope. You deserve to be loved and treated with respect. You deserve peace and joy in your life. Don’t settle for anything less than that. Your future does not have to be dictated by your past.

    Each step you take you are not alone.

    Stand Strong.

    Please go to this link to read how to accept your award.
    http://xeeramasque5.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/liebster-blog-award/
    (I have presented the details of what to do in a verbose, rather non-structured manner so please feel free to visit my nominators Liebster post at http://turkeyboneheaven.com/2014/03/22/liebster-award/ )

    Like

Leave a Reply

