Willingness


“Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood him.”

12 X 12 page 40

Sometimes it takes a while  to sit in my own pain until I become willing to do the next right thing to remove that pain. Willingness is a good tool in sobriety to have. As you start to apply it in your life you find that you become more and more free. Willingness means I will do  what ever it is  I have to do to remove that pain. I went to any lengths to get that drink or drug so I have to be willing to go to any lengths to keep my sobriety.  It could be a resentment, family, job, friend, ect…  If I do the work I need to do on my part the promises tell me I will know a new freedom and a new happiness. It is when we try to make our will conform with God’s that we begin to use it rightly. There is an inner peace that you will have that you thought you would never be able to achieve. If your read Step 3 in the 12X12 it really gives you the tools to be able to work on yourself and move forward. Sometime’s it take’s me a minute but if I just apply willingness just for today I will know that inner peace. Don’t give your power away to anyone or anything. You deserve to be clean and sober and  you are earning that seat so take whatever it is in every meeting you go to and apply that in your life.

Just Be Willing.

3RD STEP PRAYER

Big Book page 63

God, I offer myself to Thee To build with me & to do with me as Thou wilt.

Relieve me of the bondage of self, that I may better do Thy will.

Take away my difficulties, that victory over them may bear witness to those I would help of Thy Power, Thy love & Thy way of life.
May I do Thy will always.

God Speed my Brothers and Sisters

TBH

Leave a Reply

