Facing your past


Everyone has a past. Most of us dont like to deal with our past unless we are forced to deal with it.  I’m no angel by any means but I’m grateful I have dealt with my past and was given the tools to move on.  I have found by dealing with my emotional, physical, sexual, and mental abuse in the past I was able to understand and forgive. Compassion is all I have now and I feel sorry for those who refuse to deal with the truth because they will never know that new freedom and happiness that comes with learning about yourself and dealing with life through new eye’s. My whole outlook on life has changed from me being able to look at how I was dealing with people, places, and situations and I was able to learn how to deal with them in a different way. Today I have peace and serenity because I use the 12 step program to deal with every situation that may sneak up on me and I look for change in my life. Before cleaning my own house I was miserable and constantly living off of someone else’s misery. I think of all the time I lost by taking others inventory and not staying focused on myself and working on making a better me. I have nothing but love and compassion now for myself and others. As long as I can keep learning to forgive myself I’m always changing. Trust God, Clean house and help others.

Page 164 of The Big Book

Abandon yourself to God as you understand God.

Admit your faults to Him and to your fellows.

Clear away the wreckage of your past.

Give freely of what you find and join us.

We shall be with you in the Fellowship of the Spirit, and you will surely meet some of us as you trudge the Road of Happy Destiny.

May God bless you and keep you – until then.

Leave a Reply

